Supporting Documentation — Source and Disposition of Authorities by Type (voted and statutory) as per the Public Accounts of Canada

Volume 2, Section 1, Table 7

This dataset presents the source and disposition of budgetary and non-budgetary authorities by ministry and by type of authority (voted and statutory). The level of details provided for the source and disposition of authorities is explained in the Introduction to Volume II of the Public Accounts of Canada. In addition, detailed information is provided in the "Ministry Summary" statement in each ministerial section of Volume II of the Public Accounts of Canada.

The Government submits its spending proposals to Parliament in the annual Estimates. During the year, the Government may request further appropriations. The initial request is called the "Main Estimates" and additional requests are called "Supplementary Estimates". With these Estimates, the Government requests authority for that part of the proposed spending which is not already provided by other statutes. The amounts making up the total of such proposed spending are authorized in Appropriation Acts and are generally referred to as "annual" or "voted" authorities. The balance of the planned spending is made under authority of other statutes which authorize disbursements for specified purposes, and for such amounts and time periods as are set by those acts. The proposed or estimated uses of most of these "statutory" authorities for the current year are included in the Estimates for information purposes; however, they are not included in appropriation acts because they have already been authorized by Parliament.

Voted authorities, with few exceptions, lapse at the end of the year if not used, while statutory authorities, with few exceptions, are carried forward to future years. Those authorities which extend to subsequent years are referred to as "non-lapsing".

Budgetary appropriations provide spending authority for those transactions which enter into the calculation of the annual deficit or surplus of the Government. Non-budgetary appropriations provide spending authority for all transactions which result in the acquisition or disposal of loans, investments and advances. Balances of appropriations brought forward from the previous years are available for spending, together with current increases to such authorities.

The totals of these authorities are reduced by the amount of their current year use to determine the balances which lapse, are overexpended or are carried forward to future years, depending upon the type of authority. In cases where the spending of loan repayments is authorized, the non-budgetary spending is reported net of such repayments.

Notes:

Note concerning data elements under the header “ATH_CTGRY_XPND_IND” where abbreviations have the following meaning:

Note concerning data elements under the header “C_ADJ_WRT_TRN_AMT” (adjustments, warrants and transfers) which include the following items:

Note concerning data elements under the header “NET_XPND_PY_AMT” (used in the previous year):

Related Links

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Date modified:

Documentation de soutien — Provenance et utilisation des autorisations par genre (votées et législatives) selon les Comptes publics du Canada

Volume 2, Section 1, Tableau 7

Ce jeu de données présente la provenance et l'utilisation des autorisations budgétaires et non budgétaires par portefeuille ministériel et par genre d'autorisations (votées et législatives). Les renseignements fournis pour ce qui est de la provenance et de l'utilisation des autorisations sont expliqués à l'Introduction de volume II du Comptes public du Canada. De plus, des renseignements détaillés apparaissent à l'état du « Sommaire du portefeuille ministériel » dans chaque section ministérielle de volume II du Comptes public du Canada.

Le gouvernement soumet ses propositions de dépenses au Parlement au moyen des Budgets des dépenses annuels. Au cours de l'exercice, le gouvernement peut demander des crédits additionnels. La demande initiale est intitulée le « Budget principal des dépenses », et les demandes additionnelles sont intitulées « Budget(s) supplémentaire(s) des dépenses ». Dans ces Budgets des dépenses, le gouvernement demande l'autorisation pour cette portion des propositions de dépenses qui n'est pas déjà couverte par d'autres statuts. Les montants totalisant de telles propositions de dépenses sont autorisés dans les lois de crédits et sont, en général, référés comme des autorisations « annuelles » ou « votées ». Le solde des dépenses prévues est effectué en vertu de l'autorisation d'autres statuts, lesquels autorisent des déboursés pour des fins spécifiques, et pour des montants et des périodes établis par ces lois. L'emploi prévu ou estimatif de presque toutes ces autorisations « législatives » pour l'exercice en cours est compris dans les Budgets des dépenses pour fins de renseignements seulement; cependant, il n'est pas compris dans des lois de crédits puisqu'il a déjà été autorisé par le Parlement.

Les autorisations votées, sauf pour quelques exceptions, s'annulent à la fin de l'exercice si elles ne sont pas employées. Les autorisations législatives, sauf pour quelques exceptions, sont reportées aux exercices futurs. Ces autorisations reportées aux exercices ultérieurs sont référées comme des autorisations qui « ne s'annulent pas ».

Les crédits budgétaires prévoient des autorisations de dépenses pour ces opérations qui entrent dans le calcul du déficit ou de l'excédent annuel du gouvernement. Les crédits non budgétaires prévoient des autorisations de dépenser pour toutes les opérations qui résultent en l'acquisition ou la disposition de prêts, placements et avances. Les soldes des crédits reportés des exercices antérieurs sont disponibles pour être dépensés, de même que les augmentations courantes à ces autorisations.

Les totaux de ces autorisations sont réduits par le montant de l'emploi de l'exercice en cours, afin de déterminer les soldes qui s'annulent, qui sont dépensés en trop ou qui sont reportés aux exercices futurs, selon le genre d'autorisation. Lorsque les remboursements de prêts sont autorisés pour être dépensés, les déboursés non budgétaires sont inscrits sur une base nette, soit en soustrayant de tels remboursements.

Notes :

Note concernant les éléments de données sous l'en-tête “ATH_CTGRY_XPND_IND” où les abréviations ont les significations suivantes:

Note concernant les éléments de données sous l'en-tête «C_ADJ_WRT_TRN_AMT » (redressements, mandats et virements) qui comprennent des éléments suivants:

Note concernant les éléments de données sous l'en-tête «NET_XPND_PY_AMT» (employées au cours de l’exercice précédent):

Liens connexes

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Date de modification :